2018 BFPA and BFPDA AGMs

07 Jun 2018

BFPA’s 59th AGM was held in Stratford-upon-Avon on 16 May and was a useful, informative and enjoyable networking occasion attended by some 40 BFPA and BFPDA members.

The President and Vice President of the BFPA hold their terms of office for two years as do the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the BFPDA Council, and the current officers therefore continue to serve for another year (until May 2019). For those unsure, the current officers of the BFPA and BFPDA are:

BFPA President Alastair Johnstone, Bosch Rexroth Ltd
BFPA Vice President Hans Waltl, PSI Global Ltd
BFPDA Council Chairman Peter Willson, Hopespare Ltd
BFPDA Council Vice Chairman Nigel Thomason, Industrial Ancillaries Ltd

New members joining the BFPA Board confirmed at the 2018 AGM are:

Paul Kerfoot, Gates Hydraulics
Andy Dickens, Interpump Hydraulics (UK) Ltd

New members joining the BFPDA Council confirmed at the 2018 AGM are:

Stephen Lund, Advanced Component Technology
Andy Connell, Pirtek Birmingham
Andy Williams, Pirtek Park Royal
Roberto Mallo, Regent Trist Hydraulics

BFPA CEO Chris Buxton then gave a presentation covering the highlights of the past year and concluded by presenting a special award presentation to Dr David Sutton in recognition of his contribution to the BFPA technical committees.

Once the formalities of the AGMs were over, Michael Burrell gave an interesting up-to the-minute update on the state of the Brexit negotiations. His presentation covered: how Brexit will affect the UK economy, the divorce deal, the transition deal, Ireland and customs, the future relationship between the UK and the EU, key players in the negotiations and the role of trade associations like the BFPA.

Many delegates stayed on after the AGM and Brexit presentation had finished and joined us for an enjoyable drinks reception and networking dinner held at the same hotel that evening.